Indian Boxing & Boxers in World Boxing Championship 2019

vijender singh
vijender singh

The 2019 edition will be held in Yekaterinburg, Russia. Leading India’s charge at the championships will be 2018 Asian Games gold medalists Amit Panghal 52 kg. Accompanying him under the tricolour will be Kavinder Singh Bisht (57kg), Manish Kaushik (63kg), Duryodhan Singh Negi (69kg), Ashish Kumar (75kg), Brijesh Yadav (81kg), Sanjeet (91kg), and Satish Kumar (+91kg).

Across the history of Men’s World Boxing Championship, India have won 4 medals, the first of which was won by celebrated boxer Vijender Singh in 2009 in Milan, Italy. While our men pugilists get prepped to unleash themselves at the upcoming edition, let’s take a stroll down the memory lane of India’s success at boxing’s most prestigious event.

Vijender Singh :

Vijender, who has worked tirelessly to put Indian boxing on the world map, won the bronze medal at the 2009 edition of the ticket event in Milan, Italy. In the same year he climbed to the pole position of the world rankings in its annual middleweight category list with 2800 points.

Vikas Krishan Yadav

Two times Asian medalist, spouthpaw boxer Vikas Krishan Yadav made a dream debut at the world championships in 2011, equalling Vijender Singh’s record but unfortunately could not surpass it settling for the bronze.

In the semi finals against Shelestyuk, it was a stunning performance by the then 19 year old Vikas Krishan , who went the distance in his very first senior world championship and aslo qualified for the London Olympics in the process.

Shiva Thapa

World Boxing Championships 2015 in Qatar, Shiva Thapa etched his name in the historybook as India’s only third medalists at boxing’s most prestigious event. In the 2019 edition however the four time Asian Championship medalist Shiva Thapa won’t feature in the Indian contingent after he lost to Manish Kaushik in the trials and had to relinquish his world championship berth.

Gaurav Bhiduri

The Asian Boxing Confederation gave the entry to Gaurav after Bhutan declined the offer. Gaurav Bhidhuri thus ended the tournament with a bronze medal ,taking India’s cumulative tally 4, the past winners.